Welcome to Reliberation Sign in | Help
in
Latest Most Popular Active Watch List Amigos  
Karen Weger

Is it highway robbery? I need advice from my relib friends

By: Karen Weger
Monday, July 23, 2007 7:42 PM

When I do a search for my web site address, the main page does come up first. Then a couple of secondary pages from my web page. However, later down on say 4th or 5th is some companies that seem to have stolen my name and incorporated it in their junk.

One in particular is realty-info-swicki.eurekster

What is that? And how did my name get affiliated with it? It goes to another advertising site. ???

Thanks for any input.

 

<< Read More at Reliberation.com

Comments

Karen Weger
Member Since '05

Karen Weger said:

Ok. I can tell none of you know how to respond to this. How many of you got to the web and just as some same, google yourself? Your own web address or name. Amazing. I will probably have to pay Lonn for advice on this one, but just thought I would throw it out there just in case.

July 23, 2007 7:18 PM
Vance Remele
Member Since '06

Vance Remele said:

Humm

Well karen, I just found out recently that my name was on a famous person list in England, and could not for the life of me how it got there.

Jay kinda explained it to me, but I can not get it off, I think it was because it was reported in the TV and newspapers and someone  took the ball and ran with it.

its to late now,and for what its worth I am over it... its funny how the internet gets its information huh?

I wish I could help you, can you show the link as to what you are talking about?

Vance

July 23, 2007 7:31 PM
Karen Weger
Member Since '05

Karen Weger said:

Right. Sure.

July 23, 2007 7:53 PM
Bruna Sapochetti/ Salesperson
Member Since '06

Bruna Sapochetti/ Salesperson said:

Hi Karen,

Boy, do I know what you mean!! And I have googled myself a while back!I know how you feel! Mr Lonn, himself, has used my own words twice! Just be thankful that you haven't said anything that will be used against you, forever... and ever... I had to go to my Board to try to stop some other people from using my own name and face advertising for their own redirecting ends. If you need to, go get advice from a lawyer.

Or just let it roll, the internet is here to stay. This medium will be used by the experts to manipulate as they see fit, up to what the law will allow or as much as they can get away with at other people's expense.

July 23, 2007 8:46 PM
Gene Carey
Member Since '03

Gene Carey said:

Karen - Did you recently sign up to get your own "swicki" since that is where these pages are coming from. It's even possible that someone who you handshake with that has a swicki may be causing your site/listings to appear there.

When I do a Google search for "site:cityandlakehomes.com" , I don't see them and I doubt that anyone has stolen your name or your content. Here is a short description of Swicki: "Swickis are a cross between search engines and Wikipedia - the community can add, delete and improve the results"

July 23, 2007 8:48 PM
Jay & Francy Thompson  REALTORS®
Member Since '05

Jay & Francy Thompson REALTORS® said:

Karen -

A lot of directories, wikis, swickis and such "scrape" the internet and grab info off a site in order to beef up their directories. It's really not that big a deal. Google understands that these kind of sites are linking to you and you have no control over them. They won't penalize you for them.

This particular swicki was set up by someone who has scraped 15,000+ sites for URL and contact info in hopes that Google will rank his page well and he/she will be able to generate ad revenue from his site. Fortunately, Google isn't stupid and sees right through these scams.

The one you mention, realty-info-swicki.eurekster, comes up #13 when I google cityandlakehomes.com. It will never rank well for any search terms people would use to find your site, so they really aren't any sort of threat or competition. At least they aren't stealing your actual content. Since they are actually linking to your site and not stealing content, it would be exceedingly painful to get anything done with the site (such as removal or banning in the search engines). Best just to ignore it.

The other things that come up in a "cityandlakehomes.com" or "cityandlakehomes" search all appear to be your site, the charlotte-cityandlakehomes.com site, sites with your listings, or valid references to your site (at least in the first four pages of search results). All of those are good things.

In short, no worries.  And really, you shouldn't have to pay anyone for this kind of advice, that's exactly what RELib and the P2 message board are for. There are plenty of folks here that will help with stuff like this. Sometimes it just takes a little time

July 24, 2007 12:17 AM
Karen Weger
Member Since '05

Karen Weger said:

Thank you very much!

July 24, 2007 6:38 AM
Gloria Losie
Member Since '06

Gloria Losie said:

So, what are swickies?  Why would you want one?

July 27, 2007 8:21 AM

Add a comment

To post a comment you can sign in using a Point2 ID. Sign in.
Don't have a Point2 ID? Join Point2 NLS or post as a guest.

My Blog

Karen Weger
Sunset Canyon Realty

Karen Weger
Member Since '05

recent comments
"e bay real estate is it the..."
Karen Weger
"big or small"
Karen Weger
"glenn beck re latest"
Karen Weger
"mls dues increasing by over..."
Karen Weger
"rets"
Karen Weger
"popular word"
Karen Weger
"popular word"
Karen Weger
"the art of the back up offer"
Karen Weger
"inspections"
Karen Weger
"cache on the photo gallery..."
Karen Weger